On to the SICACO Competition

The theme for this one was “Primitive + Modern Life”. The first theme came easily, a commentary on texting with a humorous gag:

The Dangers of Texting

Sorry if the scan is poor quality, the piece’s size was too big for one go with my scanner. I had to split it in two and sew it together in paint.net. It will be the same for the next piece.

Modern and Primitive Competition Piece

This second one is my favorite. It’s an ink drawing (you can tell). I didn’t want to paint it because if I were to paint it I would want it to have the color scheme and textures of a Grecian urn. The Grecian influence is purely aesthetic. I looked at some Renaissance paintings for the stage. It’s kind of a hodgepodge of stuff.

With this guy I was trying to think of places in life where “primitive” and modern live in a lovely harmony and the first thing that came to mind was theatre, where we try to recreate pieces done in more “primitive” times. I suppose I should define primitive if I am going to keep putting quotation marks on it. By primitive I just mean early living:

relating to, denoting, or preserving the character of an early stage in the evolutionary or historical development of something.

or

not developed or derived from anything else.

I’m not sure if the message is clear but I had fun making this piece….especially since I was watching My Little Pony whilst drawing it 😀

Leave a Reply

